top of page
  • nickymarrable

Jackdaws

Several times an hour the jackdaw nestlings in our chimney start to squawk as their parents bring food. I often see them arrive or leave if I am outside the house but rarely catch them actually entering so I decided to sit in the sun and watch. Before long, I saw a jackdaw flying towards the house, so I lifted my camera. It flew straight past, was joined by four more and then I realised that they were mobbing a passing buzzard. I watched for a while as they flew at the buzzard, chasing it away from out chimney and attacking it, as buzzards can prey on jackdaw nestlings. Funnily enough, once the buzzard had left and the jackdaws returned, their entrance is in a very narrow gap in the cowl over our chimney and there is no way the buzzard would have been able to fit in!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page